Continuous sexual abuse

Continuous sexual abuse is the allegation that someone 17 or older commits two or more acts of sexual abuse on someone who is 13 or younger. Allegations of continuous sexual abuse are serious in nature and should be handled immediately.

Under Texas law, sexual charges are enhanced charges the younger the child is. This translates into harsher penalties for more serious offenses.

San Antonio Sex Crimes Defense Attorney

False or exaggerated allegations of sexual motivated crimes causes tremendous fear, embarrassment and uncertainty. You should have a skilled attorney on your side if you are accused of any sex crime. Contact a sex crime lawyer at Goldstein & Orr.


Definition of Continuous Sexual Abuse

Under Texas Penal Code Section 21.02, continuous sexual abuse of a young child or children involves a person accused of committing two or more acts of sexual abuse over a period of 30 days or more. At the time of each sexual act, the actor must be 17 years of age or older and the victim or victims must be 13 years of age or younger.

Continuous sexual abuse can include:

  • Indecency with a child by contact
  • Sexual performance by a child
  • Sexual assault of a child
  • Aggravated sexual assault of a child

Section 21.02 (f) of the Texas Penal Code states “A defendant may not be charged with more than one count under Subsection (b) if all of the specific acts of sexual abuse that are alleged to have been committed are alleged to have been committed against a single victim.”


Penalties for Sexual Offenses

The punishments for sex crimes in Texas depend the offense classification and several other factors. Courts also could impose other requirements, including increased fines. Generally, the penalties for offenses could include:

  • First-degree felony: Five to 99 years in prison or life and a fine up to $10,000
  • Second-degree felony: Two to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
  • Third-degree felony: Two to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
  • State Jail Felony: Between 180 days and two years in prison and a fine up to $10,000
  • Class A Misdemeanor: Up to one year in jail and a fine up to $4,000
  • Class B Misdemeanor: Up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000

Additionally, people who are convicted of a sexual offense in Texas are required to register with their local law enforcement authority for a specific period of time, usually for ten years or in some cases a lifetime.


Resources for those facing domestic violence

Texas Health and Human Services, Family Violence Program – The state of Texas has a Family Violence Program that promotes self-sufficiency, safety and other resources for adult and child victims of family violence.

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services – This state agency has resources for people to report abuse and initiate investigations into allegations of child abuse.


Finding a lawyer for sex crimes in Bexar County

Being accused of sex crimes can upend your life, affecting family and personal relationships and also making it difficult to maintain employment. Under the American system of justice, you are presumed innocent until proven guilty. The attorneys at Goldstein & Orr will fight to defend your presumption of innocence as you fight for the best possible resolution in the case.

If you are charged with any kind of alleged sexually motivated offense in San Antonio, Bexar County or the surrounding areas in Texas, then call (210) 226-1463 for a free phone consultation.

(210) 226-1463
  1. Attorneys
  2. Results
  3. Contact