Manslaughter is a serious charge that involves at least one death. Any penalties resulting from a manslaughter conviction are likely to involve prison time and hefty fines.
Texas law recognizes manslaughter as criminal homicide under chapter 19 of the state’s penal code. Manslaughter is a serious offense that can drastically alter your life or the life of a loved one.
Attorney for Violent Crimes in San Antonio, TX
The accusation of manslaughter is one that most likely requires legal representation. A San Antonio violent crime attorney can help you work to get the best possible results in your case and to get your life back on track.
At Goldstein & Orr, our experienced attorneys will carefully evaluate all evidence. We will find any way to challenge the charges and seek to have them reduced or dismissed. Our San Antonio-based firm has represented clients on serious criminal matters for more than four decades, including allegations involving manslaughter.
Call us today at (210) 226-1463 for a free telephone consultation.
What is Manslaughter in Texas?
Texas law recognizes manslaughter as criminal homicide under section 19.04 of the state’s penal code. A person commits the crime of manslaughter if he or she recklessly caused the death of an individual. This differs from murder, where the accused intentionally and knowingly caused the death of someone. Manslaughter can be interpreted as an action that unintentionally caused a death, which is referred to as reckless behavior.
Manslaughter charges also do not require a prosecutor to prove intent or special circumstances. For murder and capital murder however, prosecutors must establish an intent or prove special circumstances.
Two specific manslaughter charges involve automobiles. Intoxicated manslaughter is when a driver recklessly causes a death while intoxicated. Vehicular manslaughter is when a driver recklessly causes a death but is not intoxicated when he or she was behind the wheel.
Murder is a first-degree felony and is a higher charge than manslaughter.
What are the Penalties for Manslaughter in Texas?
Manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony in Texas, which is punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
Common defenses against manslaughter in Texas
Manslaughter charges can arise from a situation where the accused had to act in self-defense. The accused may be able to present facts that he or she was defending him or herself, or another person from serious harm and death. Another defense against manslaughter is that the death was caused purely by accident, with no negligence or recklessness on the part of the accused.
A skilled attorney can also challenge the prosecution on if they have sufficient evidence to convict someone of manslaughter.
Find a Lawyer for Manslaughter in San Antonio, TX
Are you accused of manslaughter in Texas? You will want to immediately contact skilled criminal defense attorneys in San Antonio.
Goldstein & Orr works tirelessly to help clients accused of violent offenses get charges reduced or completely dismissed. Call (210) 226-1463 or complete an online contact form right now to have our lawyers evaluate your case during a free consultation.